Do you think that modern technology, such as the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information?

Give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

Advances of technology such as the internet and computer lead to more users worldwide for the useful information gathering. As a consequences, books or written alphabets may be accessed less than before. I could not deny that the use of internet is grown up but I will never replaced the published books or offline materials.

Published or written format materials are major sources of information for some reasons. First, for some readers, books are more convenient and more eye-friendly to read than reading through computer screen or tablet screen such as Ipad and Kindle.

Second, the internet is not available in all areas in developing countries or underdeveloped countries, even where some places have no electricity. As a result, printed books are still the main source of information to them. For example, the hill tribes in my province do not use the internet as none of internet broadband companies want to gain sales from the distance villages on the high mountains. Third, in the university library, books are vital sources of information and research tools from all parts of the world, which have been collected for several years and it seems impossible that those details in books would be shifted to computer-based resources.

It is undeniable that the internet are full of useful information, leading the advances of people knowledge than before, however, not all the internet users are matured enough to access to the right content. For example, school teachers may restrict students to use online research for their reports as there are course books which are more reliable and approved material for course syllabus.

In conclusion, the internet is beneficial for a wide range of information but it is not the platform for all purposes of using data. As a result, books will remain a significant source of information for many reasons; convenience, accessibility, and being available for university students' researches in libraries.