Doing volunteer work is a waste of time and shouldn’t be encouraged among students. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Nowadays, volunteer work has been considered as an integral part of many students’ life, whereas, it is sometimes claimed that students should not squander their time on doing these activities which may have negative effect on their academic results. Nonetheless, I totally believe that volunteer work ought to be encouraged in students due to its potential benefits.

To commence with, there is no denying that volunteer work is an indispensable extracurricular activity in school with the aim of helping foster independence and imparting the ability to deal with different situations, unexpected incidences. This can make students become much more mature and self-reliant. In addition, another noteworthy point is that doing volunteer work can help students develop jobs skills for the future. By means of taking part in volunteer work, students can gain a lot of hands – on experience along with many momentous soft skills including communications, teamwork, or creativity. Volunteering provides students an exposure to the real world and a golden chance to develop their skills, which definitely can boost their CV and supply a better job prospects.

Furthermore, it is apparent that doing volunteer work is an efficacious way to make a contribution to the society. In spite of the young age, volunteer work makes it possible for students to fulfill their obligations to pay back to the society, make a difference and change the environment around in a proactive way. This plays a crucial role in the cognitive development of students, which can help diminish the enormous number of criminals and social evils each year. Therefore, not only does it make students instill their consciousness of the community but it also exerts a positive impact on the development of the society.

In summary, I strongly believe that engaging in unpaid work needs to be stimulated in students owing to its benefits to both individuals and society as a whole.