In the eighteen to twenty year age bracket the percentage was as high as 70%. A large contributing factor to this high level of addiction is attributed to the uncensored TV advertising of cigarettes.

For this reason all cigarette advertising should be banned.

Research found that nicotine addiction in young people is caused by uncensored TV advertising and society is finding the way to stop it. I agree that all cigarette advertising should be prohibited from all media. However, advertising is not the only significant cause of smoking in young age.

Advertising of cigarettes in various media platforms such as TV, websites, and billboards should be censored or banned from juveniles. There are many reasons to support this idea. First, young people are not always monitored by their parents or teachers. For example, they could watch TV or walk into the places where cigarette advertising is appearing. At that moment, the guidance from parents or teachers is not there to instruct them about those advertising in every chance. Second, advertising of cigarettes may lead to the starting point of nicotine addiction among groups of youngsters, if the presenters are their favorite stars. This is because young people usually have their role models or icons to follow their style and activities, in which smoking could be one of them.

Other factors which profoundly lead to smoking addiction in children are content in the movies or TV series and family members who smoke. Young people sometimes could not differentiate between what is right or wrong from the content in the movies or TV series. For example, a protagonist in the action movies they watch may save the world from villains which is an appropriate content. However, there could be a scene where the protagonist is smoking and children want to try it because of that person is already their role model. The other cause of smoking in young age is family members who smoke. This is the difficult problem to solve as children could not choose what kind of family they want to be in. When they are grown up in the smoking family, it is undeniable that children may see smoking as a common activity, which easily leads to a tryout.

In conclusion, I agree that society should ban advertising of cigarette in media in regards to smoking in young age. Nevertheless, there are other significant factors which could trigger the habit of nicotine addiction in adolescents such as movies' content and smoking family members which people should also aware and find solutions to solve these problems.