Every year several languages die out every year. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier when there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The phenomenon in which fewer languages are used has been observed all over the world. While some people believe in the impact of each language on life, others support the idea that this brings more advantages. This essay will discuss both views and offer my opinion.

There are several advantages of reduced languages. The most tangible one could be more efficient communication. While communication is key to many other aspects in life, it can be seen quite clearly in aiding the flow of goods and business thus improving the international economy. Besides financial benefits, fewer language situations may play a role in reinforcing relationships between countries. By breaking language barriers, different countries can avoid misunderstandings. In brief, it might be true that a limited number of languages can drive wealth and relations.

On the other hand, supporters argue that languages dying out might result in many more consequences. Not only languages are the means of communication but they also carry crucial values. For instance, when people stop speaking a certain language, plenty of cultural differences and unique knowledge which is acquired by that language’s users are likely to be lost. Furthermore, the lack of language variety probably leads to the dominance of a few popular languages. This can be considered unfair for countries where lost languages originate. More importantly, this phenomenon may lead to extreme difficulties for schools and parents in raising children. Without a native language identified, it’s almost impossible to teach kids about their national identity, tolerance, and understandings of differences. Every language is important because of the cultural and educational values it holds within.

Overall, dying out languages can be beneficial in some cases but as a whole, this has unarguable consequences for humankind. Therefore, I disagree with the mentioned opinion. From my perspective, measures should be taken appropriately to protect less common yet valuable languages.