Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that several languages are disappearing every year and people have the views that fewer languages would be better for their daily lives. While I agree with the views that the complex languages disappear could be easier for us, I also believe that a language fading out means the culture of a community disappears, therefore it is crucial to protect certain languages.

On the one hand, more people tend to use the major languages such as English, Chinese and Spanish etc. and give up to use the less common languages in the globe. This situation means that we can interact with each other easier and it is beneficial to the international development between countries. For example, some countries in remote area begin to develop the infrastructures with the international non-governmental organization due to the breaking down the obstacle in communication. Furthermore, more children use the popular languages as their mother tongues, and thus they can acquire more opportunities to study or work in other countries.

On the other hand, the dying out of rare languages is harmful to the conservation of the traditional culture and custom. Firstly, a language represents the wisdom of a community, many local cultures like traditional songs and folk stories are developed base on the languages. Those valuable cultures cannot pass to the next generation if the local language disappeared. Secondly, languages disappear will increase the difficulty of tracing the historical history of certain societies as many historical records are recorded by the unique and systematic domestic languages. Finally, the loss of a language will cause the generation gap between youngers and adults in communities. The communication barriers between people may even lead to the collapse of the society.

In conclusion, I can understand why people argue that it is convenient to interact if there are fewer languages, but it seems to me that it is important to protect any kinds of language.