Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this topic?

On annual basis some languages become extinct. Some people say it is not essential as life would be eased if languages were less in the world. I disagree with this opinion considering that dialects form a sense of culture and belonging and make life more interesting.

A person’s language or vernacular allows for them to have strong relationships with the people from their society allowing for culture to be passed from generation to generation. If their language dies out they will be a poor sense of belonging to any cultural background due to destroyed platform of association which can be strengthened by common language. For instance, a common language like French if it dies out the French would have a loss in their culture and would find it difficult to learn a new language.

Life is made easier and interesting by diverse languages, which people have an opportunity to learn if they wish to explore. Therefore, instead of allowing languages to die out, opportunity should be made to people to learn these different languages. For example, Chinese language will live for many years as they ensure that they teach in their language only, even foreign students are required to learn it before starting their classes.

To conclude, languages should be treasured so that future generations will have an opportunity to enjoy their cultures fully. This preservation can be ensured by government through allowing the dialects to be taught in schools and books to be written so that the languages do not disappear.