Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs regardless of their level of academic ability.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that no one should be denied of education irrespective of their learning capabilities. However, higher learning institutions are force to set quota on the number of students accepted per program due to limited resources. In my opinion, in order to accommodate as much applicants as possible, universities and colleges should seek government support or find innovative ways to deliver their programs.

As mentioned, education is a right of every individual, as this gives them with the necessary tools to achieve their life goals. Without it, one finds themselves at a disadvantage and often struggles to look for a suitable job that can help them achieve financial freedom.

However, schools operate within a certain budget. As much as they want to accept everyone, they have to work within their financial limitations to ascertain that their academic programs remain effective and sustainable. That is why, admissions are only given to select applicants who they think are capable and deserving. The government can help in this aspect by amending legislation that can increase monetary support or ease the financial burden of academic institutions.

Schools should also find ways to lessen cost of educational program. One viable option is offering distant learning program wherein academic modules are delivered through online lectures and discussions. This way is much cheaper and teachers does not have to limit the number participants in a lecture.

In conclusion, admission to higher education should not be limited by economic reasons. I believe that stronger government support and cost-effective program designs are the key in increasing admissions in universities and colleges.