Everyday, tons of food are wasted from restaurants and stores all over the world

Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

The predicament of eaters discarding a high quantity of food has existed for years. This problem might be the consequence of the culinary world and bulk purchasing. Actions from the government and food companies can help mitigate this issue.

The possible causes for wasting food lie within the nature of food and drink industry. The first one derives from food service operators. Food loss is often the result of kitchen culture or staff behavior such as over-preparation or improper ingredient storage. All-you-can-eat buffets, for instance, are particularly wasteful since they are packed with assorted dishes but hardly consumed fully. After the eating hours, the food remnants cannot be reused or donated due to health code restrictions, which eventually causes a high level of wastes. Another justification is the promotion of mass buying. Various foods are displayed at discount prices, encouraging customers to choose in bulk. However, they do not probably eat all of what they buy, resulting in unfinished food thrown away once it reaches the expiry date.

This worrying matter could be effectively tackled by the joint action from the government and businesses. Firstly, restaurant ought to predict the amount of food stored and food used by establishing a tracking system which can be done either manually or technologically. Such a food tracking mechanism is proved to be efficient in strictly controlling food consumed, thus reducing the food waste level. Finally, legislators should require supermarkets and food facilities to exhibit posters concerning wise shopping and ordering; brochures about careful food choice need attaching to certain food items as well. This radical campaign would entail consumers having more responsibility in making food purchases.

In summary, the main culprits behind this issue are culinary habits and mass buying. Where possible, having a food tracking method and public campaigns would effectively alleviate the situation.