Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that a diet, which does our health good, is possible without eating meat. Therefore, everyone should switch to vegetarianism. In my opinion, I partly agree with this concept for some following reasons.

Let us begin with the advantages of becoming a vegetarian. First of all, meat consumption is not always as healthy as we have assumed. It can be explained that intaking meat is believed to associate with the likelihood of suffering from heart diseases, diabetes or even cancers. For instance, there is strong evidence that eating red or processed meat increases the risk of being diagnosed with bowel cancer, which is one of the most common cancers in Australia. In addition, the treatment of animals in factory farms is on suspicion of being cruel and inhumane. For example, in order to produce fatty liver, geese are forced to have a highly energy-intaking diet through a pipe that carries food into geese’s stomachs. Thus, these geese may suffer from obesity and have difficulties in breathing.

On the other hand, there are some arguments against vegetarianism. It is shown that meat has been the main ingredient in traditional meals of many countries for thousands of years. As a result, people have become accustomed to consuming meat so that it is challenging to rearrange their lifestyle. Besides, meat-eaters argue that vegetarians do not follow a balanced diet. Because meat is believed to be the most convenient way of getting protein, which is important for their dietary needs.

In conclusion, although there are some undeniable benefits of being a vegetarian, I do believe that the selection of whether people should follow vegetarianism or not depends on each individual's belief and willingness.