Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

Not long ago the idea of following a strict vegan diet ¬was considered extreme and impractical. A vegan does not eat any animal products — no meat, fish, fowl, eggs, dairy or honey. Yet interest has grown lately: many announcing that they have adopted the diet, resulting in better health. Although I do not oppose to vegetarian, I personally believe that it is not necessary that all the people follow a vegetarian diet.

Being vegetarian benefits the body in many ways. Firstly, according to researches, a vegetarian diet may lower the risk of heart disease, diabetes, and cancer. It was due to the fact that it's typically lower in saturated fat and animal protein, and higher in fiber, complex carbohydrates, and vitamins C and E. Secondly, by eating a variety of foods including fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts and seeds, soy products, and whole grains, vegetarians can get adequate nutrients from non–meat sources. For example, tofu has a high protein. In consequence, we can eat tofu rather than meat to absorb sufficient protein.

Nevertheless, on the downside, a varied vegetarian diet is often associated with additional costs. Vegetarians often have a harder time than meat eaters. For example, not many restaurants offer true vegan choices and this can make dining out difficult. Thus, vegetarian should carry vegan foods and snacks to make eating out easier when traveling long distances. In addition, if a vegetarian’s daily meals are not properly balanced, he or she might suffer from a lack of calories to meet his or her energy needs. As a result, they will feel lethargic and unable to do anything energetic.

By ways of conclusion, no matter how healthy a vegetarian diet is, it is still not a perfect substitute of meat products.