Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, so-called extreme sports have drawn public attention in many countries. It is said that these are too dangerous to play and should be prohibited. While I agree with their potential fatality, I argue that it is not necessary to enact a law to stop these activities.

Without a doubt, extreme sports can put people’s lives at risk. Obviously, taking part in these sports may lead participants to be in danger. Some of them have to suffer severe injuries such as broken limbs or brain damage, even die a painful death. Furthermore, it also brings risks to spectators as well as rescue workers. The fact has shown that it may endanger people staying in a grandstand because of unfortunate events or athletes’ carelessness. Apart from that, in emergency cases, skiers stuck in a snowstorm, for example, rescuers, who have the responsibility to save skiers’ lives, may also get fatal accidents. Therefore, it is undeniable that playing extreme sports involves varying degrees of danger.

Despite the mentioned-above concerns, I hold the belief that authorities should not ban these sports because of some following reasons. The first one is that players can gain a lot from these sporting activities. It is a suitable way for them to have an enjoyable pastime with friends. Moreover, they have opportunities to learn problem-solving and decision-making skills under dangerous conditions. The second reason is that almost all extreme sports have safety rules to prevent participants from unforeseen problems. Anyone who wants to join these kinds of sports needs to sign up a training course to have basic practices. Besides, all of the neophytes are not allowed to play solo and must be accompanied by an experienced professional. As a result, it would be wrong to ban extreme sports.

In conclusion, although the potential risks from extreme sports are clear, I do believe that rather than banning them, governments should invest in improving these sports’ facilities to ensure the safety for both players and spectators as well.