Family

In the past few decades, the patterns of a family have greatly diversified. There are some changes regarding its organization and members’ role; and in my opinion, these changes can be seen as a progress.

Families at present have undergone two main differences compared to the past. First, the structure of a nuclear family now can have more than one breadwinner, who normally is the father. This is because in the modern world, only a few jobs could secure the stability of single-earner families, which forces both parents to be the financial supporters. Second, the trend that parents exchange their roles has become more common. As the result of women’s protest for their rights, mothers now have equal opportunities for education and work, which allows the other spouse to assume responsibility as a stay-at-home parent to take care of the children and the housework.

From my perspective, those changes in the family’s structure and parental roles are positive for a number of reasons. That both parents can become the breadwinners would ensure the stable finance of a family, which not only directly eases the burden that the father have to bear in order to support the whole family but also enables the mother to pursue her dream job. From another angle, it is an upward step that people are at liberty to do what they like and what they are good at. Women can follow their dream and stabilize her family financial status if they are better at work than their husbands.

In conclusion, I think the changes occurring to a family’s hierarchy and members’ responsibilities are a positive step toward a better world.