"Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are

solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they

are also responsible for bringing the children up."

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The function of nurturing a child should be a balanced responsibility taken up by the father and the mother. Because it is believed that women are more desirous of having babies, they have been solely held responsible for raising children. This essay completely agrees with the statement. In my opinion, the partnership between the man and woman involved in procreation as well as the need to raise responsible and balanced children confers equal task of parenting on both husband and wife.

To conceive a child goes beyond the desire of a woman. Without a male contribution, it is almost impossible to have a baby not to talk of raising one. Although technology has advanced with assisted reproductive measures, most women who would love to mother a child could not do that in the absence of the male component needed. To illustrate, a distant cousin of mine was desirous of mothering her child however her husband believed they were not financially capable to do that. Hence, he delayed in getting the woman pregnant by the use of male contraceptives. Without his sperm, it would be difficult for the woman to conceive.

Furthermore, raising a responsible child requires a joint effort of both parents. Without the input of the father, who is expected to instil discipline, and the mother’s home care and tender, a child is likely to become insolent and a menace to society. For example, society has seen a rise in the number of single mothers. The male child(ren) born to these mothers have been postulated to be more effeminate or unruly than boys who have both fatherly and motherly support.

In conclusion, due to the fact that for a baby to be formed in the womb, there is a need for male contribution as well as wholistic care and support given by both parties while nurturing the child to be responsible in the society, I believe that equal relevance should be placed on fatherhood and motherhood.