A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is true that there is a growing tendency of an array of languages becoming predominant, while the opposite trend is witnessed for the remainder. Even though this phenomenon has various bright sides, its drawback should be not underestimated.

On the one hand, an increasing number of people using majority languages rather than minority languages brings about a variety of merits due to several reasons. The most significant advantage is that it may be a window of a great opportunity giving human beings an extraordinary key to communicate effectively. As a result, it is likely to create a substantial chance for people, in particular the young, to boost cultural exchanges promoting globalization. Furthermore, breaking language barriers manage to encourage international economic cooperation. Consequently, it may play a huge role empowering trade to be flourish resulting in a healthier world economy.

On the other hand, the widespread use of several languages could trigger a wide range of negative influences. Firstly, it appears that the language is considered as one of the most dispensable aspects of each culture. Therefore, though obliterating linguistic obstacle, this trend concurrently threatens the diversity of negligible cultural identity. Additionally, the homogeneity of culture is able to pose a great challenge to tourism, since there is no exotic elements stimulating to discover. By doing this way, this would devastate numerous nations economically that rely on touring industry primarily.

In conclusion, adopting universal languages substitute for the mother tongue has both advantages and disvantages.