few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. is this a positive or negative trend?

It is a fact that the use of several languages are grown predominantly high over the past few decades. Rapid use of certain languages gave a way to deficiency of few languages is a question. In my perspective, it is considered as negative trend than positive trend.

First of all, language is a formal outfit that has many effects on its multiple use. Predominancy of certain languages helps in better communication facilities and provides better understanding between nations where, a common language is very necessary to deal catastrophic events. For instance, a person who appears in a hospital need to know the common language of the nearby people to explain regarding his situation if the doctor doesn't know the language. Moreover predominant languages help in civilization and contemporary development when it progress to globalization

Eventhough common languages have many positive trends, negative trends are always due it it's peculiarities. Loss of tradition and cultures due to extinct languages. There are many festivals which is celebrated in relation to their local languages. For example, Malayali manka is a cultural fest competition related to Malayalam language. If people are not willing to such type of language, there is no point in such type of celebrations.

In my opinion each individual language plays a seductive role to sustain a nation with its heritage.

To recapitulate, it is clear that negative trends are outweigh positive trend for the use of common language and extinction of specific language which leads to the job loss of many personals works in the are of language teaching.