Few languages are increasingly spoken in diffirent countries while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is it a positive or negative development?

Few languages such as English, Chinese, Spanish are becoming more popular all around the world, whereas other languages seem to be faded right in their own nations. In my opinion, I believe that this tendency has its own advantages and disadvantages.

On the on hand, it is certainly true that countries which use international languages as an official language have more chances to develop their economy via boosting multilateral trade. For an example, Singapore, at first just a small island, located in the Southeast Asia but all Singaporean are able to speak English fluently, so that they achieved such an incredible growth and have become a nation with cultural diversity so far. Secondly, Speaking globle languages help countries using them appeal a huge of tourist because it is easier for overseas visitors to communicate with local people. For instance, most of Filipino have ability to speak English as their mother tongue. Therefore, the number of foreigners coming to the Philipines is nearly twice as much as higher than that of other nations in the same areas.

On the other hand, the gradual disappearance of other languages definitely do harmful to the society. First of all, losing the traditional languages is synonymous with losing a strong sense of identity, then the young generation would not know about their original. National languages provide a link to people’s roots. Therefore, without national langues, people tend to dismiss the traditional values and this one leads to an embarking situation that the cultural activities, national costume and all the things belonging to tradition will be forgotten.

In conclusion, while I accept that it would be more beneficial for people to speak international languages but I still suppose that the national languages should be cherished and kept it going.