Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and
historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with
this opinion?
more than local residents to visit important sites and monuments. I
completely disagree with this idea.
The argument in favour of higher prices for foreign tourists would be that
cultural or historical attractions often depend on state subsidies to keep
them going, which means that the resident population already pays
money to these sites through the tax system. However, I believe this to
be a very shortsighted view. Foreign tourists contribute to the economy
of the host country with the money they spend on a wide range of goods
and services, including food, souvenirs, accommodation and travel. The
governments and inhabitants of every country should be happy to
subsidise important tourist sites and encourage people from the rest of
the world to visit them.
If travellers realised that they would have to pay more to visit historical
and cultural attractions in a particular nation, they would perhaps decide
not to go to that country on holiday. To take the UK as an example, the
tourism industry and many related jobs rely on visitors coming to the
country to see places like Windsor Castle or Saint Paul’s Cathedral.
These two sites charge the same price regardless of nationality, and this
helps to promote the nation’s cultural heritage. If overseas tourists
stopped coming due to higher prices, there would be a risk of insufficient
funding for the maintenance of these important buildings.
In conclusion, I believe that every effort should be made to attract tourists
from overseas, and it would be counterproductive to make them pay more
than local residents.