In the future, it seems it will be more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted that in the future, people can hardly live on the Earth because of climate change, pollution, and depletion of various resources. Consequently, several people suppose that governments and organizations should mobilize more funds on astronomy, especially researching livable planets such as Mars and how to approach these. Personally, I agree that investment in other inhabitable planets is necessary for human evolution, however, I reckon that we should tackle our Earth’s problems together instead of destroying planet to planet in the whole universe.

On the one hand, spending more money on researching another planet for humans to inhabit seems to be significant. Firstly, finding another livable planet means we can be exposed to another civilization. As a result, it will answer our most profound and thought-provoking question: “Are we alone in the universe?” For example, the first American spacecraft landed on Mars ushering humans in an entirely new journey of conquering outer space. Secondly, researching other habitable entities also guarantees the future of our next generations. In the worse circumstance, if our planet is devastated, our offspring will have another shelter where they can learn about their ancestors’ history as well as develop their own civilization.

On the other hand, it seems more practical to me that we should utilize these funds on handling our Earth’s issues in order to live stably and spend precisely. First and foremost, together, we can solve more than 70-80% of the world’s problems, as soon as all of them are tackled, we might never have to leave our planet. Global warming is mainly caused by human activities such as manufacturing and driving. Hence, governments and companies should invest in environmental-friendly ways of producing and commuting like technology-based systems or using bikes and solar-power cars instead. One possible solution for pollutions is for everyone to join hands, from the most negligible action as reusing recyclable things to a greater one as spending more money on a more modern and effective waste treatment system. In terms of resources’ depletion, the cash flow used for astronaut research should be invested for finding and applying methods of alternative and eternal resources such as solar and wind energy. Otherwise, the amount of money spent on finding new planets can be unaffordable to many nations, thus, this money must be used for sustainable development.

In conclusion, I agree that funding for studies on habitable planets is necessary because it helps human to know more outside the horizon and also prepare our descendants for a secure future. However, I believe that investments in dealing with the Earth’s problems are much more practical and rational.