In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is universally accepted that reading is one of the most common hobbies around the world. While it is increasingly likely that newspapers and books will be a part of history in the future considering the enhancements in technology which has made it free, it is also possible that book readers would not fully convert into online readers due to several reasons. I partially agree with this statement as both of the views have their arguments which will be discussed as follows.

To commence with, it is certain that technology is improvising at a rapid pace and thus making almost everything easily accessible. Similarly, smartphones or computers having an internet connection all day will definitely have an edge on the readers to access the information or read the book anytime, anyplace. Moreover, the internet is needless to say, updates the information spontaneously, and therefore, for instance, the online reader will instantly be informed of the incidents happening around compared with the one who will have to wait for tomorrow’s newspaper.

Conversely, it is also worth considering that the information on the internet is never hundred percent authentic owing to the unverified publishers. However, it is more likely that the verified information or books will ask the reader for a monthly/yearly subscription and hence it is not free on the internet anymore. For these reasons, online reading may not have a significant impact on many physical readers. A survey conducted by the Australian technology department demonstrates the fact that a large proportion of the people disagrees with reading e-books if having an opportunity of both in front of them.

Taking everything into consideration, it appears to me that not everyone will shift themselves to online reading as doubting the information which may not be authentic most of the time and also have to buy subscriptions which will be equal compared to purchasing books.