In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The number of senior citizens will increase significantly than youth in several countries of the world in coming days. This is due to rapid advancement in medical science and it should be seen as a positive development because they have a wealth of lifetimes experiences through which they can contribute to the society.

In recent era people have higher life expectancy than before due to tremendous medical advancements. People used to die of diseases like tuberculosis, cancer or even in AIDS just a few decades ago. But discovery of modern investigative procedures and pharmaceuticals treatment options provided physicians with a vast resource to treat these patients. Moreover, general people are now very much health conscious than ever before. For example, people do check their diet, try to do exercise almost everyday, go to doctors for routine check ups. All there activities keep them healthy and disease free. Therefore, people are living more than before and thus the numbers of senior citizens are rising in certain demographics.

Older people have a wealth of skills and experiences which can contribute to the community and society. Older people can influence on a macro level to the workplace and financially and at a local level to their communities and individual networks in term of experience. For instance, senior citizens of some countries form a club/organization so that they can do social or voluntary work which is helpful for the society. In addition, as the youth of the family are not available all the time to give company, sometimes they are theirs companions. Moreover, in many society, grandparents use to take care of their grandson or daughter and thus contributing to the economy.

In conclusion, medical science has increased peoples life expectancy far from before and thus the number of older people are getting high than younger. This is a positive development for the society as youth can learn from their lifetime experiences.