In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries.

Is it a positive or negative development?

It is estimated that in the future there will be a more increasing percentage of aged people than that of youthful ones in a majority of nations all over the world. In my opinion, this is completely a negative tendency.

Some advocates of aging population favor this trend for some reasons. One reason is focused investment in well-being facilities and services. It means that in a society with a large number of aging people, its authority would take more care of citizens’ needs and happiness by erecting heath establishments and supplying services of basic necessities. For example, within big cities in Japan, where old people constitute more than 65% of the urban population, thousands of medical centers and private hospitals have been built so as to satisfy standard living requirements. Because of this, most national budget is annually used for infrastructure as well as regional facilities for such dominant groups of people.

Having said that, I strongly believe that the growing quantity of elderly residents would definitely cause more trouble for a community. Firstly, there are shortages of energetic employees. Young workers, in general, are more physically fit and therefore can work longer hours with superior effectiveness compared to the aged counterparts. Thus, a company full of old workers cannot yield a tremendous amount of profit, which would badly affect the entire economy of a country in the long run. Secondly, foreign investments are unlikely to be poured into the country. This is because overseas sponsors only have a preference for the nations with a large percentage of youngsters. They commonly believe the more young employees are in a location the more economic potentials are and dynamic the market is. The ageing population represents the contrary certainly. Thirdly, the image of a country would be influence in a negative fashion if it has a lot of old nationals. The typical instance is Japan; when thinking about this country, many people would describe it as a place with a rapid aging population, which brings more drawbacks than benefits to the whole society. It is expressed that in about a century, hundreds of villages would disappear forever as there are no descendants.

In summary, the aged population taking a major proportion of people in the future is a completely negative trend.