The gap between the rich and the poor is increasingly wide, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause? What are the solutions to address those problems?

The boundary between wealthy individuals and those living in poverty is gradually extended due to the fact that the rich become wealthier and the poor are dragged down in poverty day by day. This discrepancy could instigate a range of problems, which need to be tackled as soon as possible by organizations and governments.

The giant gulf between prosperous and destitute communities could easily lead to social inequality and instability in every corner of the world. It is obvious that difference will cause discrimination in many aspects of life, from interactions among people to the rights they have in society. Accordingly, children born in impoverished families can hardly build-up and have long-term relationships with those born in well-off families. Later in life, when these poor children grow up, at school and workplace, they might not have access to some facilities and be treated equally as their rich counterparts because of lack of money. The burden of social inequality will force a group of poor people committing to various dangerous crimes such as robbery or murder to ease their craving for money. For example, in the 90s, in the whole globe, the gap between rich and poor was significantly huge, resulting in the rapid increase of street robbers and household thieves.

Having been aware of these damaging consequences, organizations and government should take the main responsibility of mitigating the discrepancy among prosperous and destitute communities. Each organization should apply obligations supporting the poor in their work as well as encouraging the rich to take good account of their colleagues. Meanwhile, all governments should implement policies to help the poor and to restrict the power of the rich in society such as financial concessions for those in difficulty and tariff more on companies which create a remarkable amount of money. In Vietnam, the government also applies tuition fees and university admissions privileges for impoverished students in remote regions.

In conclusion, the deep gulf dividing the rich and the poor will be the root of myriads of social issues which can largely be addressed by serious actions taken by the governments and organizations.