A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child’s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

People learn and develop throughout their entire lives. I think that in our modern world it is very essential to be familiar with computer technology. So, if I had a chance to give a child a gift it would be a computer. I think that computers play an essential role in our lives and they bring many benefits to our society. Moreover, children can learn by use of computers. In the following paragraphs I will give my reasons to support my answer.

First of all, by use of computers children can play many games, which help to improve children's ability to think logically, think about their next step, etc. Moreover, playing games develop many important qualities such as attention, patience, persistent, etc. Second of all, computers help children to learn more about anything by use of Internet. They can find new friends even from another country. Children will improve their communication skills, gain more knowledge and experience. Also, children have a great opportunity to learn more about other countries, their history, traditions and customs. Finally, computer skills can help a child to find his or her first job. A child can find an ad in the Internet about a job offer or he or she can make a resume and place it in the Internet. Personally, I think it is a great experience and big step forward towards a future career.

In addition to those practical benefits, computer technology helps children to do their homework faster. They can type their data into the computer, easily check the grammar, correct mistakes and then print it out. Moreover, there are plenty different kinds of educational programs that can help children learn how to read, write, draw and even how to behave and speak a foreign language.

To sum up, I believe that children should learn how to use computer because this knowledge will help them in the future to be more self-confident and enterprising. Furthermore, computers can greatly improve and simplify their lives if children know how to use them.