Giving aid to poorer countries has more negative effects than the positive effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globally, the issue of whether developed countries should support poorer countries has been a topic of discussion for many years. Some people think international aid brings more drawbacks, like developing countries being highly dependent on foreign nations, while this essay will argue that it is advantageous for both rich and poor countries.

To begin with, aid and supports from other places enable the government in disadvantageous countries to pursue and maintain social stability. Increasing job opportunities and cheaper commodities would be available if well-developed countries provide financial support, medical help, or technical assistance to less-developed ones, where most residents hardly make a decent life. For instance, many African countries steadily make progress without conflicts, wars and chaos partly thanks to the continuous humane assistance from other countries, stabilising the whole area and improving people’s living standards. Thus, it is definitely beneficial for poor countries.

In addition, helping under-developed countries can also benefit richer countries through international cooperation. With the economic development brought by global aid, people in the developing countries will have more disposable savings, thereby stimulating the need for consumption and international business. This means that rich countries may explore a significantly huge potential market where they are able to make profits in a long run. In this case, it is worthwhile to aid poorer nations.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that helping under-developed countries has a positive influence on both help-givers and receivers. Around the world, human beings will live in a better place if richer countries keep supporting poorer ones.