Giving detailed description of crimes in newspapers and on television has bad consequences. Some people therefore suggest that the government should impose restrictions on them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Various newspapers and TV news channel give detailed explanation of criminal activities which have bad impacts on people and society. Therefore, some home sapiens argue that the bureaucrats should impose strict rules on the news media to overcome the situation. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement because not only will it prevent other criminals to get influenced by the various crime methods used in a crime, but it will also stop news channel from making false implications about a crime.

The primary reason why the government should impose strict rules and regulations on news channel to display complete information of a crime is because other minor criminals probably will not get influenced by them. This is because whenever a complete explanation about a crime is broadcasted on news, other criminals learn new techniques of crime and start committing crimes in the same way as mentioned in the previous cases. This results in the increase in the number of crimes. Take the example of the pattern of various rape cases happened in India since 2012, all rape victims were killed by the rapists after committing rapes because it would not be possible to catch culprits if the victim is alive. Thus, the above example clearly depicts that detailed news is the major cause of repeated crimes.

Another reason is that it will prevent news media from making false predictions about a crime. It is commonly seen today that various news channel such as “India Tv News” make unreal assumptions about suspects of various cases for the sake of attracting viewers to their channels. This sometimes results in the mental harassment of common people. In the suicide case of renowned India’s actor Sushant Rajput, for example, various false cases of murder and drug abuse were made on actress named Rhea chakroborty by the media of India on the grounds of being the actor’s girlfriend.

To conclude, I wholeheartedly agree to introduce some strict rules and regulations on the printed media and tv news channel because it will reduce the number of crimes in society as well as prevent them from mentally harassing the common individuals of society.