Global environment issues are the responsibility of richer nations, not the poorer ones.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

As environmental problems are rapidly destroying the globe that we rely on for survival, there’s been debate on whose responsibility it is to address these enormous problems. While some believe that nations who have acquired their prosperity through exploitation of the environment are saddled solely with this responsibility. It is my view that all countries including the less wealthy ones must play a role in curbing this menace.

It is true that developed countries are first at industrialization; a process which produces a huge amounts of pollutants like emission of greenhouse gases. At the same time, it allowed these nations become extensively rich leading to uncontrolled urbanization and further deterioration of our habitation as opposed to the undeveloped countries. As a result, these countries should solely provide funding for environmental protection.

However, these issues are an around-the-world problem which wealthy nations cannot solve alone. Despite, urbanization and industrialization being some major contributory factors, the biggest threat to environmental health is people. The vast global polluters are people living in both developed, developing and underdeveloped countries. In other words, even if the wealthier nations take actions, it will be inconsequential if most of the world is still pumping deleterious emissions into the atmosphere.

To sum up, poor countries often argue that their counterpart gained their wealth by abusing the environment as such should take responsibility, contrarily, I believe that environmental issues poses grave risk to humanity, as such, it is a collective responsibility among all nation to proffer solution in preserving the environment.