Globalization is creating a world of one culture and destroying national identity.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Globalization is an ongoing process well-known for its considerable impact on today's society. Its main aim is the insurance of equality and accessibility to different facilities for people across the world, without taking into consideration their nationalities. However, the imposing of a global benchmark for all countries is considered by some people to create a world of one culture, surrounded by monotony, which destroys the national identity.

On one hand, globalization allows us to observe the figures of the other countries regarding domains such as economy, technology, tourism and transport. Through this, each nation can assimilate the information and conceive an adjusted development plan for its advantage, following the model of other fortunate regions. Thus, everyone is encouraged to approach a continuous improvement so it would not be at risk of being left behind. Therefore, we ensure that state of the art technology or discoveries that are made could help future generations live carefreely.

On the other hand, raising the countries systems to a certain benchmark involves the approach of new cultures, including local cuisine, new traditions and a universal language used as a way of communication. Hence, we lose the diversity of cultures and the traits which make each country unique, as they become a whole. Since we are the only ones who can keep the cultural inheritance going on, we have to become aware of the foreign influences which could alter them.

T

In conclusion, I believe that globalization plays a significant role in our evolution and development. Nevertheless, the negative effects of this process outweigh the advantages by the loss of local traditions and culture which cannot be retrieved to our folklore once forgotten.