Government investment in public transport and reductions in public transport prices will greatly help the fight against transport pollution.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays there are excess numbers of cars on the road which causes traffic jam. I totally agree with the idea that spending money on improving public transport and reducing the cost of using it will significantly decrease that excess number of cars thus reducing air pollution. This essay will analyse how these two ideas should be put into practice.

Investment in public transport in the following ways greatly affect in reducing the traffic pollution. Firstly, increasing number of buses and trains will make it available for everyone travelling long distance. Secondly, introducing buses that are comfortable for passengers will attract more people. Examples of this could be putting air conditioners on buses, reducing noise on trains by introducing quiet passenger cars, and providing clean buses and trains. Lastly, expanding bus routes and increasing reliability of timetable will greatly encourage people to choose public transport over private cars.

In addition to that, reducing public transport price will support to decrease transport pollution. Main advantage is that it will be more affordable for people with low income such as students and elderly people. Another point is that private car users will be motivated to use public bus as they will be able to save money they used to spend on petrol and other care related expenses. As a result there will be fewer cars on the road which will lead to a decrease in pollution.

In conclusion if executed properly, investment on public transport and its price reduction will combat this major problem, transport pollution, we are facing today.