The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems, and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming.

To what extent do you agree?

It is widely argued that the authority should spend more money on pressing and more dangerous problems like global warming and reduce its spending on domestic environmental issues. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that attempting to solve local environmental problems could be more beneficial.

First of all, all of today's serious environmental problems such as climate change are the result of pollution at the local level. This is because the local environment is undeniably a part of the global environment. For example, global warming happens as a consequence of an increasing amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere by cities around the world.

Furthermore, taking action on local matters would certainly raise environmental awareness among local residents, which encourages them to take more responsible actions in terms of the global environment. A key reason for this is that the effects of many small actions quickly add up. For instance, if each person in a large metropolitan area chose to walk or take the bus instead of driving for one day a week, the reduction in air pollution would be absolutely huge. While it is true that one person working alone in a given region cannot make a significant difference, a group of people working together in all local communities can have a dramatic positive effect.

In conclusion, although it is critical for the government to increase money for the most important and high-priority issues, I think that the government should also keep on increasing funding into local problems.