Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People have the views that more resources should be allocated on building railways rather than roads. I completely agree with the idea that further development of railways is beneficial for all members in the society.

There are several reasons why the government should pay more efforts on the infrastructure of railways. Firstly, the population of the town grows dramatically in recent years, the roads have a great burden due to the increasing number of buses and private cars. By contrast, the rail systems can provide an alternative transport for citizens, and each rail can carry massive passengers in a journey. Secondly, the railways can reduce the traffic accidents which caused by manual errors. Although rails also require the manual control, the signal systems always monitor the safety of operations and ensure the trains arrive the destinations on time. Finally, the railways are more environmental friendly for the society. It is evident that the pollutants emitted by rails are much fewer than that of cars.

On the other hand, it is perhaps fewer funds are required on the developing the roads. In our city, most of the roads are well developed, governments only need to spend money on the maintenances and operations of roads. The development of extra roads is not necessary in current. Furthermore, the problems of congestions on the roads are mainly due to the increasing number of cars. Therefore, providing alternative transport systems is more appropriate in relieve the pressures on roads.

In conclusion, my opinion is that government should spend more money on constructing railways that can benefits our lives and reduce the burden on roads.