The government should spend money on railways rather than on roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

Excellent transport system reflects a city's prosperity. Government is obliged to spend a major proportion of economy on transportation means depending upon distribution of area and need for public convenience. I agree with the statement that the government should spend money on railways compared to roadways. This essay intends to explore the benefits of spending money on railways before forming a conclusion.

Firstly, railways system is convenient to ubiquitous population. When implemented properly travelling through train greatly reduces the time of travelling. In the contemporary world, ‘time is considered as money’, where when the time is saved ,it is utilised for other important aspects of life. For example in the city, Hyderabad, extensive metro rails are built spreading along vast area from north to south covering more than 200 km. Such a terrific transport system ensured ease for the citizens of the city and saved hours of travelling from one corner to another. Conventionally, people used to travel for about three hours to reach periphery by means of roads opposed by traffic and signals.

Secondly, railways are much safer compared to roadways as much life threatening accidents happen rarely on trains. When travelling for major distances such for more than a thousand miles, preferring a route through railways is best. Also, the public railways costs less compared to taxis and buses.

However, building a full fledged railways requires the huge amount of money for the raw material and skilled engineers from other nations. So, the government has to put a benchmark effort for the long-term advantages of the railway system.

To sum up, I agree that the government should make explicit advances and spend major portion in providing public railways to the people to get benefitted mutually.