A government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubtedly true that governments should allocate their annual budget in transportation sector for the development of railways rather than roads. I completely agree with this opinion that will be described below.

Train is the most effective transportation in the world for people. This is because train could guarantee the passengers to arrive on time at their destination. This strength could solve the problem of congestion, especially in metropolitan cities in the world where most of their citizen commute daily for working from suburban area towards the central of cities. Based on this evidence, most of the cities council have projected the development of train infrastructures, including railways. For example, the government of Jakarta province has begun the establishment and the improvement of mass rapid transports since on the early of 2010s to reduce the rate of traffic jam. Hopefully, it can help people to reach their destination quickly.

The other reason is train listed as one of the most convenience mode of transportation in comparison with another mode of transportations, such as ships, cars, and motorcycles. This is because all train bureaus have standardized their safety procedures during its operation as well as aircrafts companies. Based on the data from Indonesian Statistical Bureau, on 2017, the rate of accident for trains had the lowest rate compare with other vehicles. Furthermore, train companies have improved their basic service gradually for their customers like ticketing system and reservation that attract people to use this transportation rather than other kind of transportation. Thus, this improvement make trains more comfortable.

In short, I fully agree to expense the annual budget for improving the facilities of railways rather than roads with the reasons explained above.