Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A good transport infrastructure is important for the development of a country. It is argued that railways should be the top priority of governments rather than roads. This essay will focus on why it is beneficial to all if a country has better trains.

First of all, a new and modern railway system significantly improves the mobility for both people and goods. In other words, it becomes easy for citizens to commute, which in turn leads to fresh and exciting job opportunities. Furthermore, the transport of goods and services also become convenient and more frequent, which paves way for tremendous economic development. Economy experts believe that without improved subways and metros, no prosperous mega-city would have been able to survive. While roads and cars have their fair share in elevating people's standards of living, the railways are the most crucial factor.

Secondly, the trains are much more environment friendly option. Although old trains were considered extremely polluting and hazardous, the newer engines are believed to be a very clean form of transportation. When a city has great rail-network, the number of vehicles on streets drop. Because of this decline in fossil-burning vehicles, the air quality drastically improves. The added benefit of clean air is decrease in number of people getting sick. Some European cities have reported these beneficial outcomes, who have banned cars from city centers.

To summarize, I completely agree with the idea of focusing more on railways than roads. It doesn't only make our lives more convenient but also benefit the atmosphere around us.