Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

An effective transport system helps improve a nation’s economy. Many believes that public officials should invest more budget on building an effective railway rather than constructing more roads. In my opinion, the former will help us more in the long term.

First, by making more rails we can effectively use trains as our primary mode of transport, which are more effective and much faster. Trains are able to transport more people and much faster than cars or bus. Second, trains can also be use to move products, especially those that are time sensitive like foods and produce, because they are much faster and able to move large amount of materials. Lastly, railways leave less carbon footprint than any other vehicles thus they are more environmentally friendly.

On the other hand, roads are more accessible to various type of vehicles. They can reach and bring people to far more remote places that trains may not be able to access. But, traveling by roads are often slower due to frequent stops and limits set by traffic rules. Although roads are relatively cheaper and faster to build, there are more accidents reported happening on the roads than in railways. Lastly, the impact of carbon emissions released by cars on the roads contributes to the worsening problem of climate change.

In summary, railways are an effective and faster mean of transportation and delivering products. Thus, it is a viable option in finding a solution to the burden brought by too much cars on the road. Politicians should explore the possibility of this system as our primary mode of transport.