Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local

environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution is one of the major concerns in today's rapid growing world. Some activists opine that local people should take the responsibility of keeping their surroundings clean and pollution free while others say that it is the responsibility of government. I disagree with the statement that people should be responsible for looking after their local environment.

To begin with local residents play a significant role in maintaining their surroundings. But, they have their own jobs and responsibilities so it is not possible for them to look after the environment constantly. Moreover, over crowding of public transport is noticed in contrast to increasing Population. Therefore it becomes difficult for public to travel in trains or buses and using their private vehicles seems more convenient in terms of safety and comfort resulting in pollution increase. For example, in city like mumbai individuals prefer to travel in their own vehicles rather than public transport due to the overcrowding and traffic issue but this has lead to increase in concentration of harmful gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide in air.

However, government is not completely responsible for cleaning up the mess or for reducing the pollution. Even if government takes the initiative to stabilize the environment, people must assist them and try to minimize the stress on government. Individuals should promote the solutions to problems arising due to pollution and ensure their application.For example, organizing gatherings on weekends to clean the surrounding area proves beneficial to the locals as well as local authority. People could curb usage of their private vehicles and start using other transport facilities provided by government like Electric bicycle or electric buses to reduce air pollution.

In conclusion, both government and locals play a crucial role to ensure a healthy environment. But, relying totally on citizens for this is not acceptable because if the problem persists and becomes prolonged then government intervention becomes necessary.