Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is proposed that government should disburse more funds on railways than on roads. For this essay, I would totally disagree with the statement. In my opinion, the wide range of interconnectivity that roads have, indirectly boosting the economy, as well as the amount spent on road constructions and maintenance have made it a better alternative expenditure for the government out of the two transportation means.

Within the community, roads provide easy accessibility for the movement of goods and services from one part of the town to another. This promotes a smooth way of conducting business thereby contributing to economic growth and as such, makes investing in roads a good option for community development. For example, the availability of roads linking my village to the nearest town has made it easier for my father who is a farmer to bring his farm produce to the markets in the urban center during harvest season. He pays his taxes from the proceedings of the sales of these crops, thereby contributing to the economy.

Also, construction and maintenance of roads are not as outrageous or specialists dependent when compared to building railways. In constructing roads, the companies that specialize in this area are available even within the country, making it easier and less expensive to build a new network of roads or expand the already available ones to accommodate growing traffic as the community develops. A good example is Nigeria. The nation has different road construction agencies like Julius Berger responsible for constructing major highways and the Federal Road Management Authority for maintenance. However, getting companies to construct railways outside of the country is an expensive option considering the foreign exchange policy and currency equivalence.

In conclusion, the societal growth, with an indirect positive effect on the economy and the cost implications of building roads over railways have made investing in roads a better option over railways