Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When it involves public transportation, government faces the dilemma of whether to spend money on railways or roads. It seems that railways are more convenient compared with roads. However, I would argue that roads are just as important as railways.

The strategy of public transportation should be conducted according by the city’s own situation, including geography, culture and the idea of citizens, rather than develop the railways blindly. For example, if a city with a small population spends their fund to construct railways, there might be deficient passengers to use those railways and then resulting in a huge deficit, which is significantly hurt the economy.

On the other hand, roads have its own advantages for citizens to travel either long distances or short distances. In terms of long distances, high expressway provided an alternative approach to travel from one city to another, and, in particular, in a hilly city which is difficult to develop good railways. Similarly, although road transportation might not be fast as railways, but it can be more convenient due to its large number of station, which is means that citizens can take buses wherever they are.

To admit it or not, high speed railways, on of the greatest invention, is, in a way, beneficial to people and society as whole. It saves a lot of time when people travel a long distance, which cannot be imagine in old time. Nevertheless, this beneficial cannot outweigh considerable advantages of roads and railways cannot replace roads entirely.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that roads are equally important as railways, so government fun should not spend on railways rather than roads. I think variety public transportation makes our society better.