Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Trains and cars are the major way of transportation and great deal of investment is requires in order to construct and run these smoothly. Whether the government should allocate more money for railways or roads is debatable issue. according to me, investing more on constructing roads would be feasible considering the fact that, it is cheaper , quicker to build and it is just more suitable for certain types of countries.

Firstly, when it comes to constructing, it is the money that comes first and it is a no brainer that building roads are far less expensive than building a complete train track. On top of that, most of the countries have already existing road system which would help to bring to the cost down even further. If any country wants to spec a certain amount of money for transportation the investing that money to build roads would offer them better outcome.

Secondly, building a new infrastructure requires time. This problem can be solved by building roads. Nowadays, many cities in the world are clogged with heavy traffic where building new roads can come into play. Especially, if the government is looking for a quick fix to the problem. It requires fir to ten years to build a new rail track where traffic problem can be solved a quicker time by investing on roads.

Finally, train system just does not match with every country's requirement. For example, Singapore is a country with few hundred kilometers and train line is not feasible in this size of land area. Not only Singapore but also it is applicable to any country with relatively small land space. Modern road system would allow people in and out of the city center at a quicker time. Therefore, for these kinds of countries investing on roads is more suitable.

In conclusion, trains and cars both are quite convenient way of transportation. Subjectively and objectively, investing on roads are practical, less expensive and quicker solution.