Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

To maintain an effective transportation, both roads and railways needed. But i think roads play more significant role in the transportation rather than railways. This essay explains the importance of roads from different angles and some advantages of railway as well.

To begin with, roads are the easy and most reliable mode of transportation as, thorough roads we can reach every nook and corner of the world. In case of any emergency, travelling via road will help us to reach the location exactly while this is not possible with the railway. Trains are running thorough prefixed stations and cannot deviate its route though there is a emergency. For example, a person suffering from heart attack can easily reach the nearest hospital with in minutes by a car however, it is not possible by a train. Another important point is, the cost of making roads are too low comparing to railway track making. The raw materials for road construction such as tar and other things are easily available in the market. On the other hand, railway lines are made up of metals which is too costly and a scarce raw material. Finally, road accidents are less tragic than the train accidents as the vehicles on the road carry only a few pasangers but thousands of people will lost their life,if train accident occurs.

Despite all the above mentioned negatives, railways has some positive aspects as well. Firstly, travelling long distances always better in railways than roads. Trains can reach the distant locations very quickly as the trains run faster than the cars and buses. Secondly, the cost of travelling is too low since railway transportation operated with electric power which is less expensive. The cost of fossil fuels continuously rising and so does the cost of road transportation.

To conclude, road transport have more advantages than the rail transport. Thus, government should spend more money on building roads.