Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Roads and railways are being built more and more recent years to meet the needs of transport systems. The idea that, governments should invest on railways instead of roads, remains in source of controversy. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea.

First of all, in many hyge cities around the world, the sxistence of public trains and railways can reduce the rate of traffic congestion. For instance, millions Japanese can use underground tubes to travel day by day, which help to prevent traffic jam in rush hours in Tokyo. Apart from that, travelling by trains, which only require ticket fee, costs less expenses than travelling by individual transportations. Furthermore, public trains are also become more and more friendly with environment because they create less carbon emissions and other toxic waste. As a result, the money, which are used for protect environment, can be used for other purposes like healthcare, education, etc… instead.

In addition, the number of traffic accidents, which were caused by cars and motorbikes are more than by trains and public transportations. A research of National University showed that, eighty percents of traffic accidents were caused by individual transportations whereas only two percents of them were caused by trains and tubes. The most important reason is, when people feel sleepy on the trains, they can have a forty winks but they have to concentrate when drive motorbikes and cars. Apart from that, citizens can save a wealth of time because the speed of transportations which use railways are faster than the others.

In conclusion, trasportations which use railways have a lots more advantages while compared with which use roads. So, governments should spend money on building more railways from now on. This will absolutely bring to cities new perspectives and opportunities.