Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is considered by some, and I agree, that governments ought allocate more budget on rail transport rather than roadways. Therefore, it could trigger people to commute with trains.

Firstly, putting more investment on the train system means people can commute faster around the city. This is because, unlike on roads, there is no traffic congestion on railways. Moreover, trains' speed is faster than cars or motorcycles. Jakarta, for example, the citizens are excited to travel to and from work these days in order to reduce commuting cost of time and money. Thus, this solution is suitable for other big cities with busy traffic

Secondly, trains are significantly safer than other road vehicles and nearly as safe as airplanes. It can be seen that trains crashes are very rare to occur, while car accidents usually happen every year. Also, they are operated by highly trained officers. In the other words, improving train railways would encourage people to not use their cars. As a result, it will decrease the number of accidents.

Finally, investing in railways means pollution can be reduced as well. It is known that trains can bring hundreds of passengers. Also, carbon emission from cars contributes 10% to global warming. This means, if people change their commuting way to trains, then this will reduce vehicle pollution and slow the process of climate change.

To sum up, governments should fund more on railway infrastructure in order to improve the quality of transportation and passengers’ experience. Other than that, this type of transport is more friendly to the environment as well.