Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, the transportation systems have become one of the concerns among individuals. Although many people strongly assume that the states should spend more of their national budget on railway systems than roads, I am of the opinion that the governments should invest on both of them.

On the one hand, there are several advantages of constructing more train lines that could not be denied. The most pivotal benefit is that a fleet is a sort of public transportation which could contain more passengers than any other kinds of vehicles, except airplanes; hence, this could partly reduce the number of vehicles on the roads because passengers could use trains for travelling instead of cars or motorbikes. This also protects the environment as the less vehicles, the less fumes are wasted into the nature. Moreover, the train stations could also become attractions. For example, the Moscow station is one of the most well-known stations in the world, attracting thousands of visitors and giving the Russian government a large number of taxes.

On the other hand, the states should also spend the national budget on roads, especially highways because of a number of reasons. Firstly, roads or highways could be built in almost every geographical location such as the countryside or even mountain areas; therefore, they can assist people to travel to other places in a more convenient and faster way. Additionally, long-distance roads could help to connect different parts of a country, especially major economic regions which also improve the national economy in the long term and benefit companies. For instance, the Noi Bai-Lao Cai highway in Viet Nam allows products in Ha Noi to access the border with China easier which can save a significant amount of money for manufacturers.

In conclusion, it is obvious that there are different views about whether the states should invest more on either rail route systems or roads and highways. In my own opinion, both of them are equally important and the governments should construct more rail routes and long-distance roads.