A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that the question of whether keeping animals to meet the various demands of humans is morally justified or not remains a source of controversy. While a number of people believe that employing animals is immoral because it is necessary for them to have the same rights as humans. I would argue that exploiting animals and raising them to meet human needs is reasonable.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why people contend that it is not fair to exploit animals. That is because they are also living creatures and they have rights to live their own lives. What’s more, it is such an unfair exploitation for people to make use of some of the animals for individual purposes. To illustrate, some people raise sheep in order to make luxury suits from the leather of lambs. Besides, animals are similar to human beings, they also have their own emotions and feelings that human should take into consideration. For example, I saw on a television documentary some cows that have burst into tears when being slaughtered in the slaughterhouse.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that using animals may result in many favourable outcomes for society. Some scientists have conducted a number of researches on animal testings, especially using mice and rabbits. In terms of the medical field, some studies have succeeded in invention vaccines against diseases and cancers. Additionally, raising livestock like fishes, chickens and pigs on farms is not only a valuable source of food but it also makes a considerable contribution by boosting the income for the farmers. Another specific example of this is that many families are raising dogs as favourite pets, so that, they are both close friends to people and loyal assistants in providing security.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity. It seems to me that it is better to employ animals for reasonable purposes.