High stakes English language tests such as IELTS are increasingly being delivered on the computer Do the advantages of computer based testing outweigh the disadvantages Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowl

English language exams, such as the IELTS or the TOEFL, are a necessary part of the migration or study processes for many people. As technology improves, these tests are increasingly being taken on computers rather than on paper. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages and explain why computer-based testing is superior to the traditional testing method.

There are several advantages to computer-based testing. First of all, most parts of the exams are marked by the computer itself using complex algorithms or software. This ensures a shorter waiting period between the exam and the availability of results. Second of all, there is no need for handwriting and thus no confusion or difficulty for the examiner with regards to reading the student's writing piece. This favors both the student and the examiner, with the former not losing marks based on legibility and the latter saving valuable time. It is evident that language tests delivered via a computer are extremely advantageous.

Despite the benefits, there are some drawbacks to shifting away from traditional testing. A number of people are entirely dependent on writing by hand when taking an exam, and may not be used to or are completely unfamiliar with typing on a keyboard. This provides an unfair advantage to those who have adapted to using a computer; conversely, this causes the loss of precious time and marks in people unable to practice online. Another downside is that computerized-tests depend entirely on electricity and software. Therefore, any power outage or computer virus could easily disrupt the exam, resulting in frustrated students who may be required to retake the exam. Overall, however, these two drawbacks pale in comparison to the advantages.

This essay discussed the ways in which computer-based tests eclipse the more traditional methods of taking exams. In my opinion, although there are a few drawbacks to moving towards computerized exams, the advantages clearly outweigh them.