Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in many countries around the world. What are the main factors that have contributed to this problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

In many countries, people are facing one major problem which is the unavailability of houses and accommodation. This essay will address the important factors contributing to this problem and propose solutions to deal with issues of homelessness.

Generally, the main factor why people cannot have their own houses or apartments is because they are unable to save money to be allocated for buying accommodation. All of their earnings are spent on their daily needs, such as food, children’s education fees, water and electricity bills. For that reason, they may not have sufficient savings that can be used to buy their permanent accommodation. The second factor contributing to this matter is the increasing number of young people in the world. According to the 2023 World Bank report, globally, two-thirds of world citizens are productive age groups who need a place to live. This makes the demand for housing is becoming competitive and as a result, people are able to purchase their place to live.

To cope with the consequences of this matter, the governments are responsible for providing affordable housing for their citizens. A method, such as, the governmental-subsidized house is a viable solution to deal with this matter as it provides low-cost housing. This way, the government can ensure that people are able to afford their own houses. Secondly, the government has to control the accommodation price. A regulation about maximum price for houses and apartments should be implemented and people who violate this regulation should be harshly punished. Therefore, the government can ensure that accommodation costs are still reasonable and there will be no homelessness in society.

To sum up, the primary factors contributing to more and more people being unable to have a place to live are that people have no money to buy a house and the increase of housing prices in the property markets. To solve this problem, the government has to allocate money to provide low-cost housing for their citizens and ensure that the accommodation price in the markets is still affordable.