The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence.

The corporate world is vastly evolving, specializing in one career path is no longer the norm. People has seen the many advantages of having several careers, while others also think that finding other means of earning income and continuing education will be helpful throughout their lives. Personally, I think that all these perspectives are more advantageous in the long term as compared to old fashion ways of thinking.

Nowadays, it is normal for professionals to have multiple jobs as they can earn more money the quickest possible way. One reason for them not to stick to one career path is that it makes their work experiences more broad, therefore they can apply to different fields entirely. Another important reality is no jobs are firmly secured especially for ordinary employees. For example nurses in the Philippines has to adapt with the small earnings provided working as a medical practitioner, in order to cope they work in other industries such as the business process outsourcing industry or BPO. Call centers or BPOs as commonly known, may not be the same field that these nurses studied while in college but these companies provide a better deal of wage levels and benefits , hence , they choose to work in this industry. Another case in point, with the advent of online commerce more people are getting the chance to sell their merchandises without having to put up their own physical store giving them more leverage in terms of operational costs. These people work their normal jobs everyday and sell stuff off the internet as their secondary means of income, so in essence they are both an ordinary worker and an online entrepreneur. Furthermore, a huge chunk of corporate workers also sees education as a means to better equip them once they lose their jobs or retire. It is not uncommon seeing professionals attending business seminars and other similar classes in order to broaden their scope and business perspectives.

In conclusion, while having a steady paying job has its own merits, I personally think that equipping yourself with a much wider knowledge in other businesses and expertise give a better advantage in the long term.