If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use money to provide free or very cheap rail travel.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays traffic issues become a perpetual nuisance in most of the countries. There is an existing argument that ovetaxing private cars and using that fund for providing rail transport can reduce traffic issues. I completely disagree with the statement ; because the convenience of the road transport can't be replaced by rail network and it is impossible to make railway's to remote and difficult landscapes.

Firstly, cars and road transport are the preffered mode of travel for the majority of people. No other means can provide the convenience it offers, people can use their cars at any time and go anywhere, unlike trains need to wait for the schedules.In case of emergency nobody will wat for mass transport system, thus the convenience can't be replaced. Taxing cars will make severe threat to the rights of the citizen to choose his mode of transport; instead improving roads can bring down the traffic issues.

Secondly; rail network has its own limitations; for example it cannot be made in difficult landscapes like hills and slopes. In this situations people will depend up on roads for the travel. Trains are meant for mass transport; so if there is less people to travel it will be huge waste of money to opereate a train, incontrast the cars can be best suited mode in these situations.

Overall, cars and rail transports can't be compared as these both are entirely different in the purpose it serves. Making better road's can reduce the road transportation issues, choosing rail alternative will not make a better choice.