If a product is good or it meets people's needs, people will buy it. Advertising is no more than a form of entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements’ effectiveness has been highlighted as an emerging issue in recent decades, escaping broader public attention. Given the suggestion that Advertising is only for entertainment purposes, its influence, in fact could be significant.

On the one hand, advertisements could bestow many benefits. From the manufacturers’ perspective, Advertisements are proved to be an effective medium for mass marketing, targetting products to larger consumer groups on a massive scale. This would be conducive to higher brand recognition and repuation, making the increase in sales and profits an inevitable product. From the consumer perspective, users could weigh the advantages and disadvantages of products from the depictions on advertisements. Consequently, consumers could form better objective gauge on products, thereby giving more effective buying choices.

On the one hand, some negative ramifications could be observed in advertising. First, since manufactures’s main objective is higher profits, advertisements are usually presented with false potrayals for consumers’ appeal, which could incentivise wasteful expenditure or even some health problems. For example, for better sales, some many food producers fail to mention the additives and preservatives used on products when broadcasting advertisements, causing the rise in food-borne diseases and other gastroenteritis cases. Second, as advertisements are sometimes followed by provocative or even violent presentations. This could have detrimental effects on viewers’ psychological health, especially young individuals’, which feed into the formation of nagative mentality in the long run with constant exposure.

In conclusion, Advertising is not simply to entertain consumers, it has both postive and nagative impacts on users and manufactures in terms of higher sales, product judgements or even mental health. By filtering which advertisements to watch, consumers could capitalize on them effectively when it comes to purchasing items.