an increase number of people buying what they need online

what are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online

It is true that online shopping is now becoming a common feature of modern commerce. While there are immense benefits pertaining to this trend, it certainly contains some inherent drawbacks.

The main advantage of online transactions over traditional methods that transactions executed through the internet offers an extreme convenience to both buyers and sellers. From a buyer's perspective, online shopping allows people a wide range of choices in terms of goods and services regardless of distance or location. Also, it obviates people’s need of travelling to stores and supermarkets. For example, a customer in China can now easily purchase household furniture from a supplier located in the US and have them transported to his/her doorway just by some clicks through websites such as Amazon and Alibaba, which was nearly impossible in the days before internet-based commerce. For businesses, the internet is an extremely effective channel to distribute their goods and merchandises to customers. Many companies see the online trading platform as a valuable opportunity to expand their business and boost their product consumption.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, the tendency towards online shopping might sometimes cause a number of issues. Firstly, there are some risks existing in purchasing online. Due to the fact that goods and services are transacted through websites, the buyers are incapable of checking the quality of productions before deciding to buy. Therefore buyers faced the risk that the product delivered to them is not of the quality that described on the internet. Secondly, online commerce means lower barriers to enter the retail market which is not necessarily good as competition over companies in a already-tense marketplace would intensify further.

In conclusion, while the trend towards online shopping benefits individuals and enterprises to some extent, it inevitably entails some disadvantages.