an increase number of people buying what they need online

what are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online

It is true that online shopping are now becoming a common feature of modern commerce. While there are some immense benefits pertaining to this trend, it certainly contain some inherent drawbacks.

The main advantage of online transactions over traditional methods that transactions executed through the internet offers an extremely convenience to both buyers and sellers. From buyers’ perspective, online shopping entitle people a wide range of choices in terms of goods and services regardless of distance or location. Also, it obviates people’s need of going to stores and supermarkets. For example, a customer in China can now easily purchase household furnitures from a supplier located in the US and have them transported to his/her doorway just by some clicks through websites such as Amazon and Alibaba, which is nearly impossible in the days before internet-based commerce. For businesses, the internet is an extremely effective channel to distribute their goods and merchandises to customers. Many companies see the online trading as a valuable opportunity to expand their business and boost their product consumptions.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, the tendency towards online shopping might sometimes cause a number of issues. Firstly, there are some risks existed in purchasing online. Due to the fact that goods and services are transacted through websites, the buyers are incapable of checking the quality of productions before decide to buy. Therefore buyers faced the risk that the product delivered to the buyers is not of the quality that described on the internet. Secondly, online commerce means lower barrier to enter the retail market which is not necessarily good as competition over companies in a already-tense marketplace would intensify further.

In conclusion, while the trend towards online shopping benefits individuals and enterprises to some extend, it inevitably entails some disadvantages.